First Experiences…

Hello Everyone!!! As you all might already know I am currently volunteering at Wat Phrathat Doi Saket as an English Teacher with Atma Seva-Wat Doi Saket Project.

Entrance to the Monastery

I arrived in Chiang Mai’s airport on December 3rd, and Dave -the program’s director- and Natch -the Thai English Teacher- were there to pick me up. I took very long to get off the plane because I had to wait for my electric scooter, and handicaps are always last. It was so long Dave started to worry a little bit.

Dave has introduced me to the Thai culture teaching me something new everyday. He showed me around Doi Saket and has also taken me around Chiang Mai. I have never felt alone. He speaks quite a bit of thai and he has been incredibly helpful, friendly and supportive.

Natch is Thai. He is the English Teacher and in charge of the English Language department amongst many other activities in the Buddhist school and the Wat as well. Natch has also helped me tons! He has made me feel welcome and needed at the school. He is eager to learn more English and always has a smile on his face! He is very optimistic and loves working for the kids. He wants the students to find learning English fun and attractive and has asked me to prepare classes which involve conversation, listening and speaking activities.

Dave and Natch

I must say that the culture shock during the first week was unexpected. Accustomed to ‘America’s luxuries’ and taken those for granted, my first glance at the bathroom threw me off…..to the extent of thinking that this arrangement might not work for me. Now, it all seems very nice and I feel comfortable using water instead of toilet paper!! I remember Dave mentioning how it all was a shock for him too, and now he has ‘switched to water’; I never thought I would say this but: ‘me too’! I could have switched to a nicer place with my own bathroom but I decided to stay here at the Wat and experience the culture instead of isolating myself somewhere else.

One of the hardest things has been coordinating with the meals’ schedule. Food does not stay warm long, so I have been eating cold eggs, cold rice, cold fried chicken, etc… and this is not fun. I have yet to eat cold soup, just can’t. When I eat cold meals, I try to feel grateful for having food on my table, unlike many other people might not even have that. But I miss having a microwave!! 😉

The food is super different from the one back home. Rice is present in almost every meal, if not rice, rice noodles or rice flour snacks. They even eat it with fruits, coconut and condensed milk. The only way I used to eat sweet rice was in rice pudding but here the possibilities are endless! Being mexican and loving spicy food has been of great help with the spicy dishes; the other day at the market I bought some chilies and the lady who sold them looked at me in a very funny/strange/surprised kind of way; I guess they are not very used to seeing ‘farangs’ (us foreigners) eat chilies.

One of the funniest things that happens everyday is in regard to the amazed looks and gossip that goes on every time someone sees my electric scooter.

Being somewhat handicapped by Chemo induced peripheral neuropathy I travel with my scooter and use it to go places. I think seeing one for the first time causes incredible surprise and curiosity specially amongst the ones who would love to have one due to their age or disabilities.

More than once thais have approached me and began talking to me signaling the scooter; I listen to them deeply wishing I could understand what they are saying and talk to them but I just smile and say: sorry, I do not understand. One day I hope to be able to speak thai so I can establish at least a simple conversation with them.

Learning thai has not been easy. I have learned a few sentences but thai language has 5 different tones to the same vowel and this is haaaaard! But I am getting there.

Teaching young buddhist novices has been an amazing experience. They are novice monks, wear robes and are treated with deference but they are still kids nonetheless. A regular teaching schedule has not been able to be set up due to all the holidays but hopefully in January things will get back to somewhat a normal schedule.

We have reorganized the English classroom and it looks cozier and inviting. Dave got a few boards and we covered one of the walls in hopes to fill it with student’s work. I am looking forward to more teaching. I will be also working on an English Curriculum for the volunteers in the future.

Sa wa dee ka!

3 thoughts on “First Experiences…

  1. (Copied from previous blog site)

    ANONYMOUS
    Hey Marcia, I am enjoying exploring your blog, a first for me. And admire your adventuresome spirit. If I were younger, perhaps I’d be doing something similar. I’d like to think so.
    Monday, February 13, 2012 – 05:11 AM

  2. (Copied from previous blog site)

    MARCIA
    Hi!!! Thank you very much for visiting my blog!!! I do not know if I am accomplishing many things, buy I am trying to help and learning a lot for sure!
    Wednesday, January 25, 2012 – 10:45 AM

  3. (Copied from previous blog site)
    WILLIAM
    Wonderful , and very interesting, keep it up ,your friends and family must be so proud of all the wonderful things you are accomorlishing
    Monday, January 9, 2012 – 09:33 PM

Leave a Reply

